State Agencies | Online Services
   

Distracted Driving Prevention Month

The 2013 Ohio Youth Risk Behavior Survey reveals that 5 out of 10 high school students who drive admitted to texting or e-mailing while driving within the past month. This statistic is particularly concerning because a study from the Virginia Technology Transportation Institute found that people who engage in “visual-manual subtasks (such as reaching for a phone, dialing and texting)” are three times more likely to get into a crash.

This April, take time to talk to the teenagers in your life about the dangers of distracted driving. It may save his or her life. Use the resources below to aid in your conversations.

Videos:

 

General Resources:

Just how dangerous is texting while driving? Use an online simulator from AT&T to see just how difficult it is to safely drive and text at the same time.

In the state of Ohio, it is against the law to text and drive. If you are under the age of 18 and are caught texting while driving, you could be fined for up to $150 and have your license suspended for 60 days. Read more about the law at the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles website.

An easy fix to avoid distracted driving is to turn off your cell phone whenever you are driving. Check out an additional nine tips from the Ohio Department of Transportation.

 

Page Created: 04/01/2014