State Agencies | Online Services
 

Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters Licensing Board

Licensee FAQ

1. How many trainees can I have?

You can have two trainees; however, you must be licensed for two years to serve as a supervisor.

2. When does my business need to have a license?

All businesses selling hearing aids in Ohio must be licensed by this board. If your business is incorporated, or it is a partnership, it must be licensed. If you operate the business as a sole proprietor, it does not require a license. 

3. I did not renew my license last year; how do I get it back?

You have two years from the date your license expires to renew without having to take the examination. To renew your license, you must pay the applicable fee, including the late renewal penalty, and provide documentation of the completion of ten hours of continuing education for each year the license was not renewed.

4. What do I have to do if I lost my license?

You will need to request and pay for a duplicate license online. Go to the Ohio eLicense Application page and follow the instructions. You will need your user ID and password to use the secure site. The fee for a duplicate license is $16.00.

5. Can I use my license from another state in Ohio?

No. Only persons who hold valid licenses in Ohio can fit and sell hearing aids in Ohio.

6. When do I apply for a license?

When you apply to take the written examination you also submit your application for a license. The initial fee of $262.00 includes the written examination, performance examination, and your first license.

7. How do I know if a continuing education course is approved by the board?

The board does not directly approve continuing education courses; however, any course that is approved by NIHIS (National Institute of Hearing Instrument Studies), ASHA (American Speech-Language Hearing Association, or AAA (American Academy of Audiology), is approved for continuing education credit.

8. What are current title and credentials requirements for Ohio Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters?

At the September 25, 2013 meeting, the board voted on title and credentials for Ohio Hearing Aid Dealers/Fitters. The issue of legally acceptable title(s)/credentials for Ohio-licensed hearing aid dealers/fitters was continued from the May 22, 2013 board meeting. As feedback and complaints to the board have emphasized concern about the possible misleading use of “HIS” when a licensee is not a “Nationally Board Certified Hearing Instrument Specialist” (BC- HIS or NBC-HIS), discussion included the International Hearing Society’s (IHS) recent policy statement encouraging licensing boards to move toward officially referencing professionals engaged in hearing aid dispensing as “Hearing Aid Specialists.” This would bring uniformity across states and would be in line with the federal government classifying “Hearing Aid Specialist" as a detailed occupation, 29-2092, under the Major Group – Healthcare Practitioners and Technical Occupations in the 2010 Standard Occupational Code (SOC).

From this point forward, the designation of having a full license from the board is indicated with H.A.S. after your name. Please correct the credential where needed.

Contact the Board

hearing@odh.ohio.gov

Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters Licensing Board
246 North High Street
Columbus, Ohio 43215-2406
1 614-466-5215 Telephone
1 614-564-2484 Fax

Page updated 10/16/2017