State Agencies | Online Services

Choose Ohio First Primary Care Scholarship

The Choose Ohio First Primary Care Scholarship Program was created with the passage of Ohio HB 198, Ohio's patient-centered medical home legislation. The goal of the program is to provide 50 medical students with an annual scholarship of $30,000, allowing them to receive up to $120,000 in scholarship funding throughout their four-year medical education. Additionally, 30 advanced practice nursing students receive scholarships each year.  A requirement of the scholarships is that the student will go on to practice primary care in Ohio for three to five years after completing residency.

Participating Medical Programs in Ohio

  • Case Western Reserve University
  • Northeast Ohio Medical University
  • Ohio University
  • The Ohio State University
  • University of Toledo
  • University of Cincinnati
  • Wright State University

Participating Nursing Programs in Ohio

  • Kent State University
  • Ohio University School of Nursing
  • University of Toledo
  • Wright State University
  • The University of Akron College of Nursing

The Choose Ohio First Primary Care Scholarship is an important tool in reaching an adequate primary care workforce throughout the state.  Choose Ohio First is operated by the Ohio Department of Higher Education.

Learn more about Choose Ohio First, Here.


Updated 4/17/2017