State Agencies | Online Services
 

Lead Poisoning Prevention - Children


lead_home3.jpgLead can damage nearly every system in the human body, and has harmful effects on both adults and children. Lead poisoning is the greatest environmental threat to children in Ohio.

The Ohio Healthy Homes and Lead Poisoning Prevention Program (OHHLPPP) provides program funding, public and professional education, public health lead investigations, case management, data collection and analysis. The program addresses the needs of lead-poisoned children from birth through 72 months of age. The program assists family members, medical care providers and other community members to reduce and prevent lead poisoning.  OHHLPPP recognizes that children under the age of 36 months are at greatest risk for lead poisoning.

This program is funded by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) for childhood lead poisoning-prevention efforts in Ohio. OHHLPPP receives all blood lead laboratory reports on Ohio resident children and contributes to the national database on lead poisoning. The program also promotes the national lead poisoning prevention guidelines set forth by the CDC.



OHHLPPP provides specific guidance in the form of Lead Testing Requirements and High Risk Zip Codes and Medical Management Recommendations.  

(NOTE: This document is in PDF Format and requires Adobe Acrobat Reader.)




Program Supervisor:  Chris Alexander
Email:  chris.alexander@odh.ohio.gov
Phone:  614-728-0880


Environmental Supervisor:  Pam Blais
Email:  pam.blais@odh.ohio.gov


Surveillance Contact:  Amy Hayes
Email:  amy.hayes@odh.ohio.gov
Phone:  614-728-6816


Case Management/Education:  Kelly Harris
Email:  kelly.harris@odh.ohio.gov
Phone:  614-728-4115


Healthy Homes Coordinator:  Angela Evans
Email:  angela.evans@odh.ohio.gov
Phone:  614-644-7799


Principal Investigator: John Belt
Email:  john.belt@odh.ohio.gov



 

Mailing Address:
Ohio Department of Health
Ohio Healthy Homes and Lead Poisoning Prevention Program
246 North High Street
Columbus, OH 43215

Telephone: 1-877-LEADSAFE (532-3723)

Fax: (614) 728-6793


Last Reviewed: 09/25/14