State Agencies | Online Services
  • End-Stage Renal Disease Facility (ESRD) (Federal Name)
  • Freestanding Dialysis Center (State Name)

End-stage renal disease is that stage of renal impairment that appears irreversible and permanent, and requires a regular course of dialysis or kidney transplant to maintain life. There are five types of ESRD facilities. A renal transplantation center is a hospital unit that provides surgical specialty services and may also be a renal dialysis center. A renal dialysis center is a hospital unit that furnishes the full spectrum of diagnostic, therapeutic and rehabilitative services. A renal dialysis facility is a unit that provides dialysis services directly to ESRD patients. A self-dialysis unit is a unit that is part of an approved renal transplantation center, renal dialysis center or renal dialysis facility that furnishes self-dialysis services. A special-purpose renal dialysis facility is a facility or unit that furnishes dialysis services on a short-term basis for special or emergency purposes; e.g., vacationers in areas remote from approved facilities or when a regular, permanent facility is closed and no backup is available in the area. Freestanding dialysis centers in Ohio are required to be licensed by the Ohio Department of Health under section 3702.30 of the Ohio Revised Code. Freestanding dialysis centers or “dialysis centers” under Ohio law do not include those in hospitals or the home of a patient performing home dialysis. Federal standards for Medicare certification are found at 42 CFR Part 405, Subpart U. Medicare-certified ESRDs are not currently subject to an annual survey visit, but are surveyed consistent with a percentage of the total state universe as set by the Medicare budget each Federal Fiscal Year. Currently, this percentage is approximately 33 percent, thus putting ESRDs on a three-year survey cycle.  Beginning in 2009, Medicare-certified ESRDs or those seeking Medicare certification are subject to the National Fire Protection Association’s (NFPA) 2000 Edition of the Life Safety Code (LSC).

Health Care Provider and Services: To obtain real-time information, generate, print and download reports regarding health care providers that are licensed and/or Medicare/Medicaid certified by the Ohio Department of Health.

Mailing Address:
Ohio Department of Health
Community Health Care Facilities & Services
246 North High Street
Columbus, OH 43215

Telephone: (614) 995-7466
Fax: (614) 564-2475


Last Updated: 06/09/11

                                              ODH Programs / Community Health Care Facilities & Services