State Agencies | Online Services

Home Health Agencies (HHAs) constitute the largest number of Medicare providers managed by the Bureau of Community Health Care Facilities & Services (BCHCFS). There is neither state licensure nor registration for HHAs in Ohio.  All Home Health agencies certified to participate in the Medicare program must provide skilled nursing care and at least one of five other specified therapeutic services. HHAs may be proprietary, government operated, health facility based or HMO operated. They may operate branches and/or sub-units in addition to the parent agency and under federal guidelines may operate across state lines from the Ohio-based units as long as their personnel are qualified in the state in which the service is being provided and the parent agency is certified in the state in which it is located.  However, there must be a reciprocal agreement in place between the Ohio and the second state before an HHA is allowed to provide cross state line services in this manner.  Ohio currently has no reciprocal agreement with any neighboring state.  Since October 1996, HHAs have been subject to a standard survey at least every 36 months.  Since November 1997, regardless of past compliance history or survey frequency category, any HHA that is part of a state, regional or national fraud and abuse initiative must be surveyed no less frequently than every 12 months.  Additionally, each year, a five-percent targeted sample of HHAs is surveyed.  HHAs are targeted by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) based on an analytical program that identifies agencies with indicated higher-than-average risk of quality problems and the intervals between the HHA's last standard survey and the targeted survey may vary from 6 to 36 months.  The federal standards for Medicare program participation are found at 42 CFR Part 484. Home health agencies may achieve and maintain Medicare certification through accreditation by a nationally-recognized accreditation organization (AO) whose standards for home health services are approved by CMS as meeting or exceeding the Medicare Program Conditions of Participation.   Currently the AOs so approved are the Accreditation Commission for Health Care (ACHC); the Community Health Accreditation Program (CHAP); and the Joint Commission (JC).

Health Care Provider and Services: To obtain real-time information, generate, print and download reports regarding health care providers that are licensed and/or Medicare/Medicaid certified by the Ohio Department of Health.

Mailing Address:
Ohio Department of Health
Community Health Care Facilities & Services
246 North High Street, 2nd Floor
Columbus, OH 43215

Telephone: (614) 995-7466
Fax: (614) 564-2475


Last Updated: 06/09/11             ODH Programs / Community Health Care Facilities & Services