State Agencies | Online Services
   

Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitting Licensing Board - License Renewal

All licenses expire on January 30 in the year after they were issued. The standard renewal fee is $157. The Board sends out applications for license renewal in early December, about 60 days prior to the renewal deadline, it is the licensee’s responsibility to file for the renewal. In order to renew a license the applicant must have completed at least ten hours of approved continuing education credits during the calendar year. One of the ten hours must be obtained in ethics or ohio law and rules. To see the criteria for approved continuing education you can go to the web page related to continuing education or review section 4747-1-11 (c) of the Ohio Administrative Code.

Licenses renewed after February 1 of the renewal year must include a completed application for license renewal, copies of the certificates showing the completion of at least 10 hours of continuing education credits, and a check or money order, payable to Treasurer, State of Ohio, in the amount of $183. All late renewals must be sent to the Ohio Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters Licensing Board, 246 North High Street, Columbus, Ohio 43215.

Licenses renewed after March 1 of the renewal year must include a completed application for license renewal, copies of the certificates showing the completion of at least 10 hours of continuing education credits, and a check or money order, payable to Treasurer, State of Ohio, in the amount of $210. All late renewal must be sent to the Ohio Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters Licensing Board, 246 North High Street, Columbus, Ohio 43215.

A license that has not been renewed within two years of the date it expired can not be renewed, and the applicant must reapply for a license and take the Board’s qualifying examination. If a request to renew the license is made after March 1 of the year the license expired, but before the end of the two year renewal opportunity, the applicant can renew the license by submitting an application for license renewal, proof of the completion of 10 hours of continuing education for each year the license was not renewed (not to exceed 20 hours), and a check or money order payable, to Treasurer, State of Ohio, in the amount of $210. All late renewals must be sent to the Hearing aid Dealers and Fitters Licensing Board, 246 North High Street, Columbus, Ohio 43215.

Trainee Permit Renewal:

Trainee permits expire one year from the date they are issued, and can be renewed one time. The permit can be renewed with in 30 days of its expiration by submitting to the Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters Licensing Board, 246 North High Street, Columbus, Ohio 43215, a trainee permit renewal application, accompanied by a check or money order, payable to Treasurer, State of Ohio , in the amount of $105. If the permit is not renewed within 30 days from the date it expired, the applicant must completed a new application, including a new statement from a physician that they are free of contagious or infectious diseases, and a check or money order, payable to Treasurer, State of Ohio, in the amount of $150.

Last Updated: 12/20/13