State Agencies | Online Services
 

Who should be tested for Lead?

Ohio Lead Testing Requirements

These requirements apply to all children in Ohio under the age of six years. There is no “safe” level of lead in the blood – any confirmed level is an indication that the child has been exposed.
Children should be tested at age 1 and 2 years, or up to 6 years if no previous test has been done, based on the following criteria:

  • If the child is on Medicaid, he/she must be tested according to Ohio and Medicaid Rules.

  • If the child resides in a high-risk zip code (determined by the OHHLPPP, see above link), he/she must be tested according to Ohio law.

  • If the parent(s) responds “yes” or the answer is unknown to one or more of the questions below, the child must be tested:

    • Does the child live in or regularly visit a residential unit, child care facility, or school built before 1950?
    • Does the child live in or regularly visit a residential unit, child care facility, or school built before 1978 that has deteriorated paint?  
    • Does the child live in or regularly visit a residential unit built before 1978 with recent, ongoing, or planned renovation/remodeling?
    • Does the child have a sibling or playmate that has or did have lead poisoning?
    • Does the child come in frequent contact with an adult who has a lead-related hobby, or occupation?
    • Does the child live near an active/former lead smelter, battery recycling plant, or other industry known to generate airborne lead dust?


Mailing Address:

Ohio Department of Health
Bureau of Environmental Health and Radiation Protection
Ohio Healthy Homes and Lead Poisoning Prevention Program
246 North High Street
Columbus, OH 43215

Telephone: 1-877-LEADSAFE (532-3723)

Fax: (614) 728-6793

Last Reviewed: 12/7/2015