State Agencies | Online Services

Champions of Oral Health

The Ohio Department of Health (ODH) is pleased to announce that Dr. Canise Bean, DMD, MPH has been selected to receive the 2017 Dr. James F. Quilty, Jr. Award for Champions of Oral Health. Dr. Bean, Professor, Division of General Practice and Materials Science, The Ohio State University College of Dentistry was recognized for her efforts to improve access to dental care for underserved Ohioans through the Oral Health Improvement through Outreach (OHIO) Project and the Dental H.O.M.E. (Health Outreach Mobile Experience) Coach Program.

Under Dr. Bean's leadership and management, the OHIO Project has enabled senior dental students to provide care to underserved communities since 2002. She established a network of nearly 30 community-based clinical settings where students each spend 50 days providing clinical services and learning about the complex issues of access to dental care for this population. More than 1700 students have participated in the program since its inception, resulting in 166,618 patient encounters and 377,734 procedures. Equally important is the heightened awareness among students of the consequences of inadequate access to dental care. As a result of this experience, many students have been inspired to pursue a career in public health and commit to serving this population through voluntary and philanthropic activities throughout their careers. 

The Dental H.O.M.E. Coach Program is a mobile pediatric dental clinic that is used to provide dental care to children with little or no health insurance who live in Franklin County (the Columbus area). All senior dental students are assigned to the program, and provide clinical services on-site at local schools. More than 2800 children receive care through this program throughout the school year.

Dr. Bean was honored for her commitment to ensuring and expanding access to care and her "dogged pursuit of equity for poor children in the area of oral health." 


Pictured are Dr. Patrick Lloyd, DDS, MS, Dean and Professor, College of Dentistry, The Ohio State University, 
    Dr. Bean, and Barbara Carnahan, RDH, MS, Oral Health Program, Ohio Department of Health


Recipients of the award are presented with a plaque and their names are engraved on a plaque perpetually on display at ODH. Please see a description of the award and a list of past recipients.


Last Updated: 04/20/2018