State Agencies | Online Services

The Utility Radiological Safety Board

The purpose of the Utility Radiological Safety Board (URSB) is to develop a comprehensive policy for the state regarding commercial nuclear power.

The URSB's member agencies include: Ohio Environmental Protection Agency, Ohio Department of Agriculture, Ohio Department of Health (ODH), Public Utilities Commission of Ohio, Ohio Emergency Management Agency (EMA) and Ohio Department of Commerce. The Ohio EMA chairs and ODH co-chairs the URSB.

The URSB was established by the Ohio General Assembly as part of Am. Sub. HB No. 111 in July 1989. The URSB's purpose, as enacted in the Ohio Revised Code Chapter 4937, is to develop a comprehensive policy for the state regarding nuclear power safety. The URSB's objectives are to promote safe, reliable and economical power and practices that promote safety, performance, emergency preparedness and public health standards that are designed to meet Ohio's needs.

The quarterly meetings are statutory and are held at 2855 West Dublin-Granville Road in Columbus, Ohio. ODH also participates in monthly working group meetings with member agencies in support of the URSB. 

Mailing Address:
Ohio Department of Health
Bureau of Environmental Health and Radiation Protection
Health Physics Support 
246 N High St.
Columbus, OH 43215

Telephone: (614) 644-2727
Fax: (614) 466-0381

Last Updated: 5/10/2018