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Individual Licensing and Qualifying Examination Process 
 

TESTING PROCEDURES READ CAREFULLY. 
 

Individual Licensure 
 

1) Must be 18 years of age or older 
 

2) Possess a high school diploma or equivalent 
 

3) “Has not committed a disqualifying offense or a crime of moral turpitude, as those terms are 
defined in section 4776.10 of the Revised Code” http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4747.05 

 
4) Complete the Qualifying Examination Process (QEP – detailed information follows) 

 
5) While individual licensure candidates are not required to hold a Trainee Permit before applying 

for licensure, it is highly recommended by the Board. 
 

6) Submit an Application for Individual License and fee of $262.00, per instructions on the 
application.  Obtain the application by requesting it in writing at hearing@odh.ohio.gov. 

a. If you do not currently hold a Trainee Permit from this Board, attach a physician’s 
statement as required by O.R.C. 4747.05 (3) http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4747.05 

b. Refer to the Qualifying Exam Schedule to determine your preferred timeline. 
Submit all documents at least thirty days (30) before test dates.  Incomplete documents 
will be returned and delay the exam process. 
 

For Candidates who hold Out-of-State Dispensing/Fitting/Selling Licenses 
and/or Other Hearing Healthcare Professional (HHP) License(s) 
 

1) There is no direct reciprocity.  You must submit an Application for License. 
The Board exempts candidates from re-taking the International Licensing Exam (ILE) IF 
you have passed this exam in another state and IHS is able to send confirmation.  Your 
“Pass” status on the ILE must be confirmed directly from IHS to the Board office.  
Contact the International Hearing Society (IHS) 734.522.7200  
  

a. If you are NOT exempted from the ILE, you must complete all licensure 
requirements including all three Qualifying Exams. 

 
b. If you ARE exempted from the ILE, you must meet all licensure requirements and 

pass the Ohio Law and Rules Exam, and then the Practical in that order. 
 
Qualifying Examination Process – QEP 
 

There are three Exams 
1. The Ohio Laws & Rules Exam 
2. The International Licensing Exam 
3. The Practical Exam 
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The International Licensing Exam for Hearing Healthcare Professionals, known as the “ILE”.  This 
100-105 multiple-choice exam covers the profession content recommended that a candidate 
possess upon entry into the field.   
The Ohio Law and Rules Exam (“OLR”) covers Ohio codes specific to the licensing of individuals and 
businesses fitting/selling hearing aids in Ohio.  This 30-minute exam is given in pen/paper format 
and contains approximately 24 multiple-choice, true-false questions about Ohio Revised Code 4747 
(law) and Ohio Administrative Code 4747 (rules).  Note that any code citations referenced within 
4747 ARE considered part of the governing law and rules, e.g. R.C. 4776.10 and R.C. 1345.30.  The 
Law and Rules are always accessible online: 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4747 
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4747-1 
 

Candidates must pass BOTH the ILE and OLR to be eligible to take the Practical Exam. 
 

The PRACTICAL is taken in a single day.  It is a hands-on test of knowledge and demonstrable skills, 
facilitated by experienced hearing aid dealers/fitters.   

 
All exams may be taken only on regularly-scheduled testing dates.  

 
Application for License and Application to Take Exam must be received at the Board office at least 
thirty (30) days prior to the preferred exam date of the FIRST exam component to be scheduled. 

 
The Board is empowered to request additional information and/or deny an application. If the Board 
proposes to deny a candidate’s application for license, the candidate would be notified of an 
opportunity for hearing.  This process would necessarily delay the candidate’s QEP timeline.  (O.R.C. 
4747.04, O.R.C. 4747.05, O.A.C.  4747-1-08) 

 
 A candidate who fails to pass any exam component on the third attempt is required to reapply for 
Licensure and begin the QEP anew. 
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