
 
 

Patient Access to Safe Sleep Environment Screening 

Every week in Ohio, 3 babies die in unsafe sleep environments. Always place your baby alone in a crib, bassinet, or play 

yard with a firm mattress. The safest place for your baby to sleep is in your room (within arm’s reach), but not in your 

bed. This way, you can easily breastfeed and bond with your baby. Never nap on a couch or chair while holding your 

baby and don’t lay your baby down on adult beds, chairs, sofas, waterbeds, air mattresses, pillows, or cushions. 

Do you have a safe crib, bassinet, or play yard with a firm mattress for your infant to sleep in after you are discharged 

from the hospital?    Yes     or     No     (circle one)  

Signature___________________________________________________________ Date ______________________ 

 

Print Name____________________________________________________________________________________ 

Please fill out the information below only if you answered “No” to the question above*:  

For Demographic Purposes Only:  

Home Zip Code: ____________________________       

Marital Status (circle one):    - Single - Married     

Race (circle all that apply):   

- American Indian or Alaska Native  

- Asian American 

- Black or African American  

- Native Hawaiian & Other Pacific Islander 

- White 

- Unspecified 

Ethnicity:  

- Hispanic  

- Non-Hispanic 

- Unspecified 

 

Yearly Household Income (circle one):  

- $5,000 - $20,000 

- $20,001 - $30,000 

- $31,001 - $40,000 

- $41,001 - $50,000 

- $51,001 - $60,000 

- $61,001 - $70,000 

- $70,001 and above 

 

Ohio Law requires facilities to report this information to the Ohio Department of Health upon discharge. A hospital staff 

member or volunteer will provide more information about safe sleep prior to your discharge. 

*You may be eligible for a free pack-n-play if your income is within current WIC income guidelines – 185 percent of the federal poverty income guidelines (may be 

subject to income verification).  You are not required to be enrolled in the WIC Program to receive the pack-n-play. 

http://www.odh.ohio.gov/odhprograms/ns/wicn/weligible.aspx  

FOR FACILITY USE ONLY: 

Parent/Guardian/Other person responsible for infant confirms that a safe crib is available once the infant is discharged 

from the facility to the infant’s residence following birth:    Y  N 

Discuss whether mother/caregiver has a safe crib or bassinet for the baby to sleep? 

1. If yes, and has a crib 

a. Discuss or provide educational information on infant safe sleep per hospital policy  

2. If no crib or bassinet, discuss infant safe sleep per hospital policy and then provide referral to Cribs for 

Kids (CFK) Provider:  

a. ODH CFK in nearest county – Refer to attached listing.  

b. CFK partner finder – http://www.cribsforkids.org/find-a-chapter/   

http://www.odh.ohio.gov/odhprograms/ns/wicn/weligible.aspx
http://www.cribsforkids.org/find-a-chapter/


 
If no, check the applicable box below: 

 Facility provided infant a safe crib using its own resources. 

 Facility provided infant a safe crib by collaborating with or obtaining assistance from another person or 

government entity. 

 Facility referred parent/guardian/other person responsible for infant to a person or government entity to obtain 

a safe crib. 

 Facility referred parent/guardian/other person responsible for infant to a site designated by ODH to obtain a 

safe crib. 


